PTCMW Awards

Welcome to the PTCMW Awards page. This page outlines all of the PTCMW Awards, including past winners and nomination information. If you have any questions, please contact the PTCMW past-president

Stephen E. Bemis Memorial Award

As a sponsoring organization, each year PTCMW submits a nomination in partnership with IPAC to the Stephen E. Bemis Memorial Award Selection Committee for consideration. The Stephen E. Bemis Memorial Award is jointly sponsored by many of the nation’s major assessment and testing associations. The purpose of the award is to recognize and honor an outstanding individual who demonstrates the qualities of Stephen Bemis. Each year, the award is presented at the IPAC annual conference.

Past Recipients

 Year  Recipient





Dennis Doverspike

Shane Pittman

Nancy Tippins

Michael Aamodt 





Deborah Whetzel

Marianne Tonjes

Elaine Pulakos

T.R. Lin

Dan Putka
Shelley Langan
 2013 Brian O’Leary
 2012 Rod Freudenberg
 2011 Jeff Feuquay
 2010 Deborah Gebhardt
 2009 Edward Hane
 2008 Kristine Smith
 2007 Carla Swander
 2006 Michael Willihnganz
 2005 Ilene Gast
 2004 Mary Anne Nester
 2003 Dennis Joiner
 2002 Harry Brull
 2001 Paul Kaiser
 2000 Robert Guion
 1999 James Johnson
 1998 Donna Denning
 1997 Doris Maye
 1996 James Sharf
 1995 Richard McKillip
 1994 Wayne Cascio
 1993 Anita Ford
 1992 Nancy Abrams
 1991 Barbara Showers
 1990 Karen Coffee
 1989 Bruce Davey
 1988 Al Maslow
 1987 Ted Darany
 1986 Glenn McClung & Charles Sproule

Criteria for Award Selection

PTCMW members nominate individuals who demonstrate all three of the following attributes:

  • An accomplished personnel measurement practitioner who is recognized for his/her on-going commitment to the principles of merit and fairness;

  • A professional who has made an impact in the field by his/her practical contributions(s) that have either resulted in an improved or new procedure; and

  • A concerned individual who is recognized for his/her commitment to assisting fellow practitioners, being available to them, and freely calling on them.

To Submit a Nomination


PTCMW Service Award

The PTCMW Service Award is a unique award which recognizes individuals for their service to PTCMW and support in achieving the goals and mission of PTCMW. Established in 1977, PTCMW and its members seek to advance the science and practice of I-O psychology and related fields through high-value professional growth and networking opportunities. Connecting with other I-O psychologists, sharing the latest research and applied approaches, and growing as a profession are what members expect of PTCMW.

2023 PTCMW Service Award Recipient:

Alex Alonso, Ph.D.

Summary of Award Process

  • PTCMW members of professional associations submit nominations
  • Past PTCMW Presidents vote to choose recipient
  • The award is presented during PTCMW's annual Fall Event
Past Recipients

 Year  Recipient



Zach Horn

James Scarf & Eric Dunleavy


Gonzalo Ferro
2019Martha Hennen 



Ilene Gast

Dan Putka

2016 Ted Rosen
2015 Ted Hayes
Lance Seberhagen
Jean Linehan

Criteria for Award Selection

Individuals nominated for this award should most nearly emulate and provide support for the tenets that PTCMW was founded on. The award is given to individuals who have volunteered significant time to further the goals of PTCMW as a member of PTCMW. These activities may include (but are not limited to): serving as a member of the PTCMW board or as a PTCMW committee member or volunteer, presenting at PTCMW events, or otherwise exchanging ideas and best practices with members of the PTCMW community. Nominees do not need to be a current member of PTCMW.

Thank you for your contribution in helping recognize people for their service to PTCMW and the I-O community.

To Submit a Nomination


PTCMW Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is given to an individual who over a career has substantially contributed to the PTCMW community. The contributions of the individual will have advanced the science and/or practice of I-O psychology in ways that directly affect the work of PTCMW members in industry, academia, or government. The individual may be active or retired in the field.


Eligibility – A nominee must:

1.    Have a substantial record of participation and service within the PTCMW community (e.g., served as Board member, participated in programs).

2.    Have provided a breadth or depth of impact in PTCMW (e.g., highly cited articles, commonly used technical advances, or practical guides).

3.    Have disseminated relevant knowledge through multiple outlets (e.g., journals, trade publications, websites, public speaking, and professional meetings, especially those regularly attended by PTCMW members).

4.    Have a sustained record of contributions over many years.


  • This award is made periodically at the discretion of the PTCMW Board. An award will not be made every year. It is anticipated that in most years an award will not be given.
  • Nominations must be made by a PTCMW Board Member. Any member in good standing can suggest a candidate to a Board member.
  • The receipt of nominations does not guarantee the award will be made. The PTCMW Board is responsible for determining whether a nominee meets the eligibility criteria for the award.
  • The award winner will be selected through a confidential vote of the PTCMW Board.
  • In the event multiple nominations:

o The Board will first determine the eligibility of each nominee.

o The Board will used rank order voting to select the winner. If no candidate receives more than 50% of the votes, the candidate with the fewest first choice votes is removed, and the votes are re-tabulated. 

o The Board will then vote on the highest ranked candidate to determine whether the award will be made. The decision to make an award must be unanimous among meeting attendees, assuming a quorum is present.

  • Awards will be made near the end of the calendar year and will be presented at a PTCMW event.

Past Recipients

2022 - Dr. Paul Sackett, University of Minnesota

2016 - Dr. John Campbell, University of Minnesota

2013 - Dr. Frank Schmidt, University of Iowa

2021 © PTCMW

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software